top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLatch

ESP8266 & Alexa (or Echo)

Updated: Feb 17, 2019


This post is almost a note to myself so that I don't lose that technological advancement which I've discovered. Years ago, I had played around with the esp8266 and managed to turn it into a web server that served me up a webpage. But then a few days ago, I discovered how to actually control the GPIOs with the webpage. It occurred to me that it might be possible to control those GPIOs with Alexa. Sure enough after some searching I tried some code and then I tried some other code since that code didn't work and then I tried some other code since that code didn't work. Eventually I found that which worked seen hereafter:


https://gist.github.com/kakopappa/02299a8ceec0aaaad3ea3bd7f2af8066


Now that you have the code that works maybe you'd like to see how I program my esp8266. I have the USB programming adapter for my Arduino mini pro.


I wanted to use my esp8266 on that without having to map the RX to the TX and vice-versa every single time I programmed so I made a little adapter. I superglued two header connectors together and then just wired them.



I'm pretty proud of myself for that simple brilliance but the best part is that I'm humble about it!!





478 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page