top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLatch

Hacking an Old ADT RC8021 Camera

I'm using the the term 'hacking' a little loosely as real hacking is using something in a way that it was not intended.

Hacker- someone who makes furniture with an ax

All we are doing here is making the ADT mean nothing, but it still is a network camera.



When I lived in Colorado, I used to pay ADT to monitor my security system which they provided. When I moved to Connecticut, I either couldn't afford security monitoring or I just didn't feel like I needed it anymore. Consequently, I now have a camera that works with a security system that I don't have anymore. I was pretty sure that there must be some way that I can use that here on my network.


Looking at the back of the camera, it's not immediately apparent who makes the camera. It says on the back of it RC 8021 but doesn't have a brand name or a manufacturer's name on it. Doing some research, I discovered that it was a Sercomm. I came across blogs where people gave unhelpful answers such as:

“sell them to some sucker on ebay and buy some Annke cubes.“

and

“Don't waste your time on the ADT crap, sell it.”

and

"1992 called, it wants its camera back."


I don’t know if the dude that said that was proud of his response but I do know I’m not. I want to use a squirt bottle on him because I wanted a solution and I already had like an hour of searching into this project. To my glee, I discovered that IP cameras have an API that can be accessed with simple http get commands. If you look at the last several pages of this camera manual(this is not the manual for my camera), you can see examples of how the commands work- they are similar to all IP cameras as I understand it:

https://www.use-ip.co.uk/datasheets/eyespy247outdooruserguide.pdf


I would love to take credit for writing out what needs to be done to re-purpose your ADT cam as a generic IP camera but I'm not going to. Instead, I've already done the research and will point your where you need to go.


Behold, this link!

https://github.com/edent/Sercomm-API


You will need a paper clip to make the magic happen!

RC8021 ADT Sercomm Camera
RC8021 ADT Sercomm Camera

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page